GOVERNMENT OF WEST BENGAL

Finance [Audit]Department, 10th floor "NABANNA"

Mandirtala, Howrah - 711 102

No.: 5603-F(P2).

03.

Birthday of Swami Vivekananda

Birthday of Netaji

Dated: 27.10.2016.

Thursday

Monday

: 12th January

23rd January

NOTIFICATION

In exercise of the power conferred by the explanation to Section 25 of the Negotiable Instrument Act,1881 [XXVI of 1881], read with Government of India, Ministry of Home Affairs, Notification No.20/25/56-pub[1] dated the 8th June, 1957 the Governor is pleased to declare the following days to be public holidays during the year 2017.

	Republic Day		:	26th January	Thursday		
	Saraswati Puja [Sree Panchami]		:	1st February	Wednesday		
	Good Friday & Birth day of Dr.B.R. Ambedkar		:	14th April	Friday		
**	Bengali New Year's Day		:	15th April	Saturday		
	May Day		:	1st May	Monday		
	Birthday of Rabindranath Tagore		:	9th May	Tuesday		
	ld-Ul-Fitar		:	26th June	Monday		
	Independence Day		:	15th August,	Tuesday		
**	Id-Ud-Joha		:	2 nd September	Saturday		
	Mahalaya		:	19th September	Tuesday		
		Mahasaptami	:	27th September	Wednesday		
	Durgapuja	Mahaastami		28th September	Thursday		
		Mahanabami	:	29th September	Friday		
**	Vijaya Dasami		:	30th September,	Saturday		
	Birthday of Gandhiji		:	2 nd October	Monday		
	Lakshmi Puja		:	5th October	Thursday		
	Kalipuja		:	19th October	Thursday		
**	Birthday of Guru Nanak		:	4th November	Saturday		
	Christmas Day		:	25th December	Monday		
Note:	Sundays are holidays	Sundays are holidays under the Negotiable Instrument Act.					
01.	In the year 2017, the following festivals / occasions fall on Sundays which are						
	public Holidays under N.I.Act and hence have not been included in the list of						
	Holidays:						
	i) Doljatra		:	12th March	Sunday		
	ii) Muharram : 1st October Sunday						
02.	The holiday with double asterisk marks i.e. [**] is applicable to those Government Offices only where Saturdays are not observed as full holiday.						

General Instructions as laid down below in this Notification No. 5603-F[P2], dated

27.10.16 are to be followed in case of Muslim Festivals.

Contd...p/2

No. : 5604-F(P2).

Dated: 27.10.2016.

In exercise of the power conferred by the explanation to Section 25 of the Negotiable Instrument Act,1881 [XXVI of 1881], read with Government of India , Ministry of Home Affairs, Notification No.20/25/56-pub[1} dated the 8th June, 1957 the Governor is pleased to declare the following days to be public holidays during the year 2017.

1. Yearly closing of Bank Account: 1st April, Saturday

Note: The Government Offices only where Saturdays are not observed as full holiday including Treasuries, Sub-Treasuries shall remain open on the 1st April ,2017 which has been declared as public Holiday under N.I. Act, under this Notification.

No. : 5605-F(P2).

Dated: 27.10.2016.

The Governor is pleased to notify that on the following days during the year 2017, which are not declared to be public Holidays, the offices under the Government of West Bengal with the exception of the offices of the Registrar of Assurances, Kolkata and Collector of the Stamp Revenue, Kolkata shall be closed.

	Shivaratri	:	24th February	Friday
	Day after Doljatra [Holi]	:	13th March	Monday
	Birth day of Poet Bhanu Bhakt	:	13th July,	Thursday
	[for Darjeeling District only]			
**	Janmastami	:	14th August	Monday
	Mahasasthi of Durgapuja	:	26th September	Tuesday
	Additional day in connection with Durgapuja	:	3rd October,	Tuesday Wednesday
	Additional day for Lakshmipuja		6th October	Friday
	Additional day in connection with Kalipuja	:	20th October	Friday
**	Additional day in connection with	:	21st October	Saturday
	Kalipuja & Bhatridwitya			
**	Fateha-Dwaz-Daham	:	2 nd December	Saturday
BY-4	-			

Note

i) In the year 2017, the following festivals / occasions fall on Sundays which are public Holidays under N.I. Act and hence have not been included in the list of holidays:

New Year's Day [2017 A.D.] : 1st January Sunday Ekadashi of Durgapuja : 1st October Sunday

ii) The holiday with double asterisk marks i.e. [**] is applicable to those Government Offices only where Saturdays are not observed as full holiday.

Contd....p/3

No. : 5606-F(P2).

Dated: 27.10.2016

The Governor is pleased to declare that the following days may be observed as Sectional Holidays in the year 2017 for the employees of different communities mentioned against each:

** Easter Saturday [for Christians only] : 15th April Saturday

** Baisakhi [for Sikh only] : 15th April Saturday

Buddha Purnima [for Buddhist only] : 10th May Wednesday

Sab-e-Barat [for Muslims only] : 12th May Friday

Karam Puja : To be notified

later on

Chhat Puja : 26th October Thursday

Note

In the year 2017, the following festivals / occasions fall on Sundays which are public Holidays under N.I. Act and hence have not been included in the list of holidays:

Mahabir Jayanti [for Jains only] : 9th April Sunday

ii) The holiday with double asterisk marks i.e. [**] is applicable to those Government Offices only where Saturdays are not observed as full holiday.

GENERAL INSTURCTIONS TO BE FOLLOWED IN ALL TYPES OPF HOLIDAYS INCLUDING HOLIDAYS FOR THE MUSLIM FESTIVALS

- 01. No substitute holiday shall be allowed if any of the festival holidays initially notified subsequently happens to fall on a weekly off or any other non-working day or in the event of more than one festival falling on the same day.
- 02. If there is any change in the date of Id-Ul-Fitre, Id-Uz-Joha, Muharram, Fateha-Duaz-Daham, Sab-e-Barat depending upon the sighting of the moon, holiday will be declared by a separate order for the date on which the festival would be actually observed in lieu of the date originally notified as holiday for this festival.
- 03. It may happen that the change of date of above occasions has to be notified at a very short notice. In such a situation, announcement would be made through T.V./ A.I.R / Newspapers and Heads of Department / Offices of the State Government may take action according to such announcements without waiting for formal order about the change of date.

By Order of the Governor,

Sd/- D. K. Mahapatra

Special Secretary to the Government of West Bengal Copy forwarded for information and necessary action to :-

- 01. The Principal Accountant General (A&E), West Bengal, Treasury Buildings, 2,Govt. Place [West] Kolkata 700 001.
- 02. The Principal Accountant General (Audit), West Bengal, Treasury Buildings, 2,Govt. Place [West] Kolkata 700 001.
- 03. The Accountant General [Receipts, Works and Local Bodies Audit], West Bengal,
 C.G.O. Complex, 3rd MSO Building, 5th floor, Block DF, Sector -1, Salt Lake, Kolkata 64.
- 04. The Chief Secretary to the Government of West Bengal .
- 05. The Resident Commissioner, Government of West Bengal, A/2, State Emporia Buildings, Baba Kharak Singh Marg, New Delhi – 110 001.
- 06. The Additional Chief Secretary / Principal Secretary / Secretary,
- 07. The Commissioner,

Division

- 08. The Special Secretary/ Additional Secretary/ Joint Secretary/ Deputy Secretary, Finance Department.
- 09. The

Department/Directorate.

- 10. The Director of Treasuries & Accounts, West Bengal, The New India Assurance Buildings, 4, Lyons Range, Kolkata 700 001.
- 11. The Director
- 12. The District Magistrate/District Judge/ Superintendent of Police,
- 13. The Sub-Divisional Officer
- The Pay & Accounts Officer, Kolkata Pay & Accounts Office-I,
 Phears Lane, Kolkata 700 012.
- 15. The Pay & Accounts Officer, Kolkata Pay & Accounts Office-II, P-1, Hyde Lane, Jawahar Buildings, Kolkata 700 073.
- The Pay & Accounts Officer, Kolkata Pay & Accounts Office-III, I.B. Market, Sector III, Salt Lake, Kolkata - 700 091.
- 17. The Treasury Officer,
- 18. The Group

Branch, Finance Department

20. Shri Sumit Mitra, Network Administrator, Finance Department for uploading in the Finance Department Website.

Special Secretary to the Government of West Bengal