Government of West Bengal Finance(Audit) Department

NABANNA. 11th Floor,325 Sarat Chandra Chatterjee Road,

Howrah-711102

No. 8155 -F (P2)

Dated: 08-11-2013

MEMORANDUM

In view of the Elections/ Bye-elections to the Municipalities/Municipal Corporation to be held on 22nd day of November, 2013 (Friday) in different Districts in the State, the Governor is hereby pleased to declare the said day as public holiday under Negotiable Instruments Act, 1881 as mentioned in the following scheduled at 'A' & 'B':

(A) Election

Date of Poll	200	ameof the Municipality Aunicipal Corporation	District	Holiday under N.I Act	Area, covered under holiday	
22-11-2013	1	Medinipur Municipality	Paschim Medinipur	22-11-2013	Entire Municipal area	
	2	Howrah Municipal Corporation	Howrah			
	3	Berhampore Municipality	Murshidabad			
	4	Krishnanagar Municipality	Nadia			
	5	Jhargram municipality	Paschim Medinipur			

(B) Bye-election

Date of Poll	Name of the Municiplities/Municipal Corporation		<u>District</u>	Ward No.(s)	Holiday under N.I Act	Area covered under holiday
1	2	. 3	4	5	6	7 .
. 22-11-2013	1	Siliguri Municipal Corporation	Darjeeling	. 31	22-11-2013	Concerned wards in the Municipal area
	2			- 11		
	3	Dinhata Municipality	Coochbehar	5		
	4	Cooch Behar Municipality	Coochbehar	17		
	5	Mal Municipality	Jalpaiguri	15		
	6	Jalpaiguri Municipality	Jalpaiguri .	10		
	7	Barrackpore Municipality	North 24 Parganas	17		
	8	Bidhannagar Municipality	North 24 Parganas	13		

Date of poll	Name of	the Municipality/Municipal	Distrrict	Word No(s)	Holiday under N.I Act	Area covered under holiday
1	2	3	4	5	6	7
	9	Rajarhat Gopalpur Municipality	North 24 Parganas	23	22-11-2013	Concerned wards in the Municipal area
	10	Madhyamgram Municipality	North 24 Parganas	11		
	11	Bhatpara Municipality	North 24 Parganas	21		
	12	Ashoknagar Kalyangarh Municipality	North 24 Parganas	- 5		
	13	Naihati Municipality	North 24 Parganas	6		
	14			26		
	15	Maheshtala Municipality	South 24 Parganas	2		
	16	Champdani Municipality	Hooghly	8		
113	17	Bhadreswar Municipality	Hooghly	22		
22-11-2013	18	Raghunathpur	Purilia	9		
22-1	19	Municipality		12		
	20	Purulia Municipality	Purulia	7		
	21	Egra Municipality	Purba Medinipur	11		
	22	Asansol Municipal	Burdwan	47		
	23	Corporation		6		
	24			1		
	25	Kulti Municipality	Burdwan	20		
	26	Murshidabad Municipality	Murshidabad	2		
	27	Bankura Municipality	Bankura	23		
	28	Kolkata Municipal	Kolkata	1		
	29	Corporation		24		

All Government Offices, Organisations, Undertakings, Corporations, Boards, Statutory and local Bodies, Educational Institutions, etc. situated within the area as stated above shall remain closed on the date of poll i.e. 22-11-2013 so that every employee who is a voter is able to exercise his/her right of franchise in the election.

- 2. The Labour Department will issue suitable instruction to shops, commercial and industrial Establishments to declare the said date for the concerned areas as paid holiday for the workers to exercise their franchise in the election.
- 3. In case of an employee working in any Central Government or any other establishments within the concerned areas, the employees who are voters to the election shall be permitted to cast their votes by way of special leave.

- 4. In case of an employee working outside the concerned Municipality/ Municipal Corporation or wards and where the date of poll has not been declared as holiday as in Para 1 above, he/she shall be allowed special leave for the day to enable him to cast his/her vote.
- 5. In case of re-poll, the employees/workers shall be allowed to cast their votes on the date of re-poll in the manner as in Para 3 and 4 above.
- 6. The day before the date of poll being the date of dispatch are hereby declared as local holidays for the Educational institutions situated within the respective Municipalities/Municipal Corporation and wards as stated in column 5 of Para 1 above.

In case any educational institution or any other establishment has been selected as dispatch centre outside Municipality /Municipal Corporation/ward area, local holiday may be declared for the said institution by the competent Authority on the day of dispatch.

Sd/- R. Majumdar Joint Secretary to the Government of West Bengal

Date: 08-11-2013

No.- 8155/1(300) F(p2)

Copy forwarded for information and necessary action to:

3. District Magistrate, District

5. Secretary State Election Commission, West Bengal,

6. Principal Accountant General (A&E), West Bengal.

8. All Pay & Accounts Officers (I,II&III).

All Treasury Officers.

10. Guard file.

Deputy Secretary to the Government of West Bengal