Holiday List for West Bengal Government Employees, 2024

government calendar 2024

Government of West Bengal
Finance (Audit) Department
325, Sarat Chatterjee Road
Howrah – 711 102

No. 6112-F(P2) Howrah, the 9th November, 2023


In exercise of the power conferred by the explanation to Section 25 of the Negotiable Instrument Act, 1881 (XXVI of 1881), read with Government of India, Ministry of Home Affairs, Notification No. 20/25/56-pub(l) dated the 8th June, 1957, the Governor is pleased to declare the days as specified at List I below to be Public Holidays during the year 2024.

2. The Governor is also pleased to notify that the offices under the Government of West Bengal with the exception of the offices of the Registrar of Assurances, Kolkata and Collector of the Stamp Revenue, Kolkata shall be closed on the days as specified at List II below which are not declared to be public holidays, during the year 2024.

3. Further, the Governor is pleased to declare that the days as specified at List III may be observed as Sectional Holidays in the year 2024 for the employees of different communities mentioned against the day.

List-I (Public Holidays in 2024 under the N. I. Act)

Birth Day of Swami Vivekananda12th January, Friday
Netaji’s Birth Day23rd January, Tuesday
Republic Day26th January, Friday
Saraswati Puja [Sree Panchami]14th February, Wednesday
Doljatra25th March, Monday
Good Friday29th March, Friday
Eid-UI-Fitr11th April, Thursday
May Day1st May, Wednesday
Birth Day of Rabindranath Tagore8th May, Wednesday
Buddha Purnima23rd May, Thursday
Id-Ud-Zoha (Bakrid)17th June, Monday
Muharram17th July, Wednesday
Independence Day15th August, Thursday
Birth Day of Gandhiji2nd October, Wednesday
Mahalaya2nd October, Wednesday
Durga Puja, Maha Saptami10th October, Thursday
Durga Puja, Maha Astami and Maha Nabami11th October, Friday
(**) Durga Puja, Dasami12th October, Saturday
Lakshmi Puja16th October, Wednesday
Kali Puja31st October, Thursday
Birth Day of Guru Nanak15th November, Friday
Christmas Day25th December, Wednesday
Yearly Closing of Bank Account1st April (Monday) (for Banks only).

List-II (Holidays under the order of State Government in 2024)

New Year’s Day1st January, Monday
Day before Saraswati Puja13th February, Tuesday
Shab-e-Barat26th February, Monday
Shivaratri8th March, Friday
Day after Doljatra26th March, Tuesday
(**) Birth Day of Shri Shri Harichand Thakur (Madhu Krishna Troyodashi Tithi)6th April, Saturday
Day before Eid-UI-Fitr10th April, Wednesday
(**) Birth Day of Poet Bhanu Bhakt for Darjeeling & Kalimpong District only13th July, Saturday
Rakhi Bandhan19th August, Monday
Janmastami26th August, Monday
Fateha-Dwaz-Daham16th September, Monday
Durga Puja, Maha Chaturthi7th October, Monday
Durga Puja, Maha Panchami8th October, Tuesday
Durga Puja, Maha Shashthi9th October, Wednesday
Additional Day for Durga Puja14th October, Monday
Additional Day for Durga Puja15th October, Tuesday
Additional Day for Lakshmi Puja17th October, Thursday
Additional Day for Lakshmi Puja18th October, Friday
Additional Day for Kali Puja1st November, Friday
Day after Bhratridwitiya4th November, Monday
Chhat Puja7th November, Thursday
Additional Day for Chhat Puja8th November, Friday
Karam PujaTo be notified later on

(#) Birth Day of Thakur Panchanan Barma falls on 14th February, Wednesday, which is a holiday under N. I. Act and therefore has not been shown separately in List-ll.

(##) Birth Day of Pandit Raghunath Murmu falls on 23rd May, Thursday, which is a holiday under N. I. Act and therefore has not been shown separately in List-ll.

(###) Birth Day of Birsa Munda falls on 15th November, Friday which is a holiday under N.l. Act and therefore has not been shown separately in List-ll.

(####) Parshwanath’s Rathajatra falls on 15th November, Friday which is a holiday under N. I. Act and therefore has not been shown separately in List-ll.

(#####) This year Doljatra and Holi fall on same day so ‘Holi’ is not shown separately in List II.

List-III (Sectional Holidays in 2024)

(**) Birthday of Guru Rabidas(for the followers of Guru Rabidas)24th February, Saturday
(**) Easter Saturday30th March (Saturday) [for Christians only]

($$) Hul Diwas, Sectional Holiday [for Adivasi (Santhal) only] on 30th June falls on Sunday which is a holiday under N.l. Act & therefore not shown separately in List III.


  1. Sundays are holidays under the Negotiable Instrument Act.
  2. In the year 2024, the following festivals/occasions fall on Sundays which are public Holidays under N. I. Act and hence have not been included in lists:
i)Bengali New Year’s Day (Nababarsha)14th April, Sunday
ii)Birth Day of Dr. B.R. Ambedkar14th April, Sunday
iii)Mahavir Jayanti21st April, Sunday
iv)Rathayatra7th July, Sunday
v)Bhratridwitiya3rd November, Sunday
  1. The holiday with double asterisk marks i.e. (**) is applicable to those Government Offices only where Saturdays are not observed as full holiday.
  2. General instructions as laid down hereunder are to be followed in case of Muslim festivals.


1) No substitute holiday shall be allowed if any of the festival – holidays initially notified subsequently happens to fall on a weekly off or any other non-working day or in the event of more than one festival falling on the same day.

2) If there is any change in the date of Eid-Ul-Fitr, Id-Ud-Zoha, Muharram, Fateha-Dwaz-Daham, Shab-e-Barat depending upon the sighting of the moon, holiday will be declared by a separate order for the date on which the festival would be actually observed in lieu of the date originally notified as holiday for this festival.

3) It may happen that the change of date of above mentioned occasions has to be notified at a very short notice. In such a situation, announcement would be made through T.V. / A.I.R. / News Papers and Heads of Department / Offices of the State Government may take action according to such announcements without waiting for formal order about the change of date.

By order of the Governor,

Sd/- Dr. Manoj Pant
Additional Chief Secretary
to the Government of West Bengal

No. 6112-F dated 09.11.2023, Source

Related Publication