Level III Trauma Care Unit in West Bengal Hospitals

Government of West Bengal
Department of Health & Family Welfare
Swasthya Bhaban, GN-29, Sector-V
Salt Lake, Kolkata-700091

Memo no. HF/SPSRC/26/2015/73 Dated: 19.03.2015


As per recommendation by Working Group on Emergency Care in India, 2011 constituted by the Ministry of Road Transport & Highways, GOI; Department of Health & FW, Government of West Bengal has been decided to operate Trauma Care facilities equivalent to Level III Trauma Care facilities in the following Medical College Hospitals, District Hospitals & Sub-divisional level Hospitals along the National and State Highways utilising the existing resources present in these hospitals.

List of the Hospitals with level of Trauma Care facilities.

Sl No.Name of the HospitalLevel of proposed Trauma Care Facility
1.Barasat DHLevel – III
2.COM & JNM Hospital, KalyaniLevel – III
3.Krishnagar DH (Shaktinagar campus)Level – III
4.Malda MCHLevel – III
5.Jalpaiguri DHLevel – III
6.Siliguri DHLevel – III
7.Haldia SDHLevel – III
8.Tamluk DHLevel – III
9.Howrah DHLevel – III
10.M R Bangur DHLevel – III
11.Chinsurah DH, HugliLevel – III
12.Purulia DHLevel – III
13.Raiganj DHLevel – III
14.Alipurduar DHLevel – III

Critical Care Units or High Dependency Units which are already functional or going to be functional shortly in these hospitals and the Emergency Observation Wards formed vide Departmental G.O. No. HF/O/MS/132/W-16/2015 Dated 05.02.2015 will be integral part of these Trauma Care Facilities.

Accordingly, these units will utilise the existing manpower, infrastructure & equipment available in the respective Critical Care Units or High Dependency Units and Emergency Observation Wards, OTs and different Diagnostic facilities already available or going to be available shortly for the purpose of Trauma Care management with immediate effect.

This may be brought to notice of all concerned including local police authorities and civil administration along with contact details. This has approval of Principal Secretary of this Department.

Sd/- Onkar Singh Meena
Secretary, H & FW Department. & Director, SPSRC
Govt. of West Bengal

No. HF-26 dated 19.03.2015, Source