WBXPress

Government Holidays for the year 2013

Published in Finance. Tags: .

Government of West Bengal
Finance Department
Audit Branch

No. 10015-F(P) Dated: 10.12.2012

NOTIFICATION

In exercise of the power conferred by the explanation to Section 25 of the Negotiable Instruments Act, 1881 (XXVI of 1881), read with Government of India, Ministry of Home Affairs, Notification No. 20/25/56-Pub(1) dated the 8th June, 1957 the Governor is pleased to declare the following days to be public holidays during the year 2013.

** Birthday of Swami Vivekananda : 12th January, Saturday
Netaji’s Birthday : 23rd January, Wednesday
** Republic Day : 26th January, Saturday
Shree Panchami : 15th February, Friday
Dol Jatra : 27th March, Wednesday
Good Friday : 29th March, Friday
Bengali New Years’ Day : 15th April, Monday
May Day : 1st May, Wednesday
Birthday of Rabindranath Tagore : 9th May, Thursday
Id-UI-Fitre : 9th August, Friday
Independence Day : 15th August, Thursday
Gandhiji’s Birthday : 2nd October, Wednesday
Mahalaya : 4th October, Friday
Durga Puja
Saptami : 11th October, Friday
** Ashtami : 12th October, Saturday
Dasami : 14th October, Monday
Id‐Uz‐Zoha : 16th October, Wednesday
Lakshmi Puja : 18th October, Friday
** Kali Puja : 2nd November, Saturday
Muharram : 14th November, Thursday
Christmas Day : 25th December, Wednesday

NOTE:

(1) Sundays are holidays under the Negotiable Instruments Act.
(2) In the year 2013, the following festivals/ occasions fall on Sundays which are Public Holidays under N.I. Act. and hence have not been included in the list of holidays:
(i) Birthday of Dr. B. R. Ambedkar : 14th April
(ii) Nabami of Durga Puja : 13th October
(iii) Guru Nanak’s Birthday & Parswanath’s Rathajatra : 17th November
(3) The holiday with double asterisk marks i.e. (**) is applicable to those Government Offices only where Saturdays are not observed as full holiday.
(4) General instructions laid down below Notification No. 10018-F(P) dated 10.12.2012 enclosed herewith are to be followed in case of Muslim festivals.

No. 10016-F(P), Dated: 10.12.2012.

In exercise of the power conferred by the explanation to Section 25 of the Negotiable Instruments Act, 1881 (XXVI of 1881) read with Government of India, Ministry of Home Affairs, Notification No. 20/25/56-Pub(l) dated 8th June, 1957, the Governor is pleased to declare the following days to be Public Holidays during the year 2013.

(1) Yearly closing Bank’ Account : 1st April, Monday
(2) Half‐Yearly closing of Bank’s Account : 30th September, Monday

NOTE:

All the State Government Offices including Treasuries, Sub-Treasuries shall remain open on the 1st April and 30th September 2013, which has been declared as Public Holiday under N.I. Act, under this Notification.

No. 10017-F(P), Dated: 10.12.2012.

The Governor is pleased to notify that on the following days during the year 2013, which are not declared to be Public Holidays, the offices under the Government of West Bengal with the exception of the offices of the Registrar of Assurances, Kolkata and Collector of the Stamp Revenue, Kolkata shall be closed:

Fateh Duaz Daham : 25th January, Friday
** Birthday of Poet Bhanu Bhakt : 13th July, Saturday
(For Darjeeling District only)
Janmastami : 28th August, Wednesday
Ekadasi of Durga Puja : 15th October, Tuesday
Bhatridwitiya : 5th November, Tuesday

NOTE:

The holidays with double asterisk mark i.e. (**) are applicable to those Government Offices where Saturday is not observed as full holiday.

No. 10018-F(P), Dated: 10.12.2012.

The Governor is pleased to declare that the following days may be observed as Sectional Holidays in the year 2013 for the employees of different communities mentioned against each:

Mahabir Jayanti : 23rd April, Tuesday (for Jains only)
** Easter Saturday : 30th March, Saturday (for Christians only)
** Buddha Purnima : 25th May, Saturday (for Buddhist only)
Sabe Barat : 25th June, Tuesday (for Muslims only)
Karampuja : To be notified later on
Chhatpuja : 8th November, Friday

NOTE:

(1) In 2013, Baisakhi (for Sikhs only) falls on 14th April which is a Sunday and a Public Holiday under N.I. Act. So, the day has not been included here.
(2) The holidays with double asterisk mark i.e. (**) are applicable to those Government Offices where Saturday is not observed as full holiday.

GENERAL INSTRUCTIONS TO BE FOLLOWED IN ALL TYPES OF HOLIDAYS INCLUDING HOLIDAYS FOR THE MUSLIM FESTIVALS

(1) No substitute holiday should be allowed if any of the festival-holidays initially notified subsequently happens to fall on a weekly off or any other non-working day or in the event of more than one festival falling on the same day.

(2) If there is any change in the date of Id-UI-Fitre, ld-Uz-Zoha, Muharram, Fateh-Duaz-Daham, Sab-e-Barat depending upon the sighting of the Moon, holiday will be declared by a separate order for the date on which the festival would be actually observed in lieu of the date originally notified as holiday for this festival.

(3) It may happen that the change of date of the above occasions has to be notified at a very short notice. In such a situation, announcement would be made through T.V./A.I.R./Newspapers and the Heads of Departments/Offices of the State Government may take action according to such an announcement without waiting for a formal order, about the change of date.

By Order of the Governor,
Sd/‐ A.K. Das
Joint Secretary to the
Government of West Bengal

Source