Constitution of West Bengal Commission for Backward Classes

Government of West Bengal
Backward Classes Welfare Department
Administrative Buildings, Bidhannagar, Kolkata – 700091.

No. 3024-BCW/MR-103/2014, dated the 15th September, 2014


In exercise of the power conferred by section 3 of the West Bengal Commission for Backward Classes Act, 1993 (West Ben. Act I of 1993), as subsequently amended (hereinafter referred to as the said Act) and in supersession of notification No. 2529-BCW/MR-279/99, dated the 7th September, 2006, the Governor is pleased hereby to re-constitute, with immediate effect, the West Bengal Commission for Backward Classes, consisting of the following Members:-

Justice Malay Sengupta, Former Chief Justice,
Sikkim High Court,
1, Belur Station Road, P.O. Belurmath,
Dist. Howrah, PIN 711 202.
Shri Abani Joardar, M.L.A.,
83, Krishnanagar Assembly Constituency, Nadia,
HB-318, Sector – III, Salt Lake,
Dr. Dilip Kumar Haider,
Leela Abash, 2nd floor, Flat 12,
41, Central Road (Ramthakur Sarani),
Jadavpur, Kolkata – 700 032.
Dr. Md. Moazzem Hossain,
BB-28, Sector-1, Salt Lake City,
Kolkata- 700 064.

2. The Chairman and every Member shall hold office for a term of three years from the date he or she assumes office as provided in sub-section (1) of section 4 of the said Act to exercise the powers conferred on and to perform the functions assigned to under the said Act.

Note. – Shri Manatosh Pandit, who was earlier appointed as Member-Secretary of the West Bengal Commission for Backward Classes vide notification No. 2223-BCW/MR-279/99, dated the 25th June, 2012, shall continue to act as Member-Secretary of the Commission and the tenure of his office shall be such as mentioned in the aforesaid notification.

By order of the Governor,

Pr. Secy. to the Govt. of West Bengal.

No. 3024-BCW dated 15.09.2014

Related Publication