Science and Technology and Biotechnology

Department of Science and Technology and Biotechnology prmotoes scientific activities in various fields and fosters important research and innovative programmes through reputed Universities, Research Institutes, Colleges and Civil Society.

  • Guidelines for Research Fellowship Award, 2022-23

    The Department of Science and Technology and Biotechnology (DSTBT), Government of West Bengal (GoWB) is pleased to announce the revised Guidelines and General Terms and Conditions in connection with Research Fellowship Award (RFA) implemented by West Bengal State Council of Science & Technology (WBSCST).

  • Enhancement of Remuneration of JRFs and SRFs wef February, 2021

    Governor is pleased to enhance the monthly remuneration of the Junior Research Fellows and Senior Research Fellows as follows: Rs. 25,000/- and Rs. 30,000/- respectively with effect from February, 2021.

  • Rules for the Award of Meghnad Puroskar, 2011

    On celebration of birth centenary of Late Prof. Meghnad Saha, Govt. of West Bengal has introduced an award named Meghnad Puroskar with effect from 1993. The prize is awarded every year to a Voluntary Organisation.

  • Rules for the Award of Gopal Chandra Bhattacharyya Smriti Puraskar, 2011

    One prize of the value of Rs. 30,000/- only with a certificate of Honour and plaque called ‘Gopal Chandra Bhattacharyya Smriti Puraskar’ will be awarded annually to a person as a token recognition of his/her notable contribution in the field of science popularisation.

  • Rules for the Award of Satyendra Puraskar, 2011

    Governor was pleased to introduce with effect from 1993 an annual prize named “Satyendra Puraskar” to be awarded every year to an individual who is adjudged the best popular Science Writer in Bengali for the year.