Date of Panchayat General Election 2013

Memo No. 158/ICA/NB/PN, Date: 27.05.2013

Panchayat Election 2013

State Government has notified dates of Panchayat General Elections which will be held in 17 districts of West Bengal (except the district of Darjeeling) in three phases as mentioned below:

1st Phase on 2nd July, 2013 in the districts of North 24 Parganas, South 24 Parganas, Purba Medinipur, Paschim Medinipur, Bankura, Purulia, Howrah, Hooghly and Burdwan.
2nd Phase on 6th July, 2013 in the districts of Nadia, Malda, Murshidabad and Birbhum.
3rd Phase on 9th July, 2013 in the districts of Cooch Behar, Jalpaiguri, Uttar Dinajpur, Dakshin Dinajpur.

2. West Bengal State Election Commission will issue Notification appointing dates for various stages of election on 27.05.2013, 31.05.2013 and on 03.06.2013 respectively.

The Model Code of Conduct will come into force all over West Bengal (except Darjeeling and Urban areas) w.e.f. today, the 27th May, 2013.

3. Stages of Election:

For the districts where elections will be held in 1st PhaseFor the districts where elections will be held in 2nd PhaseFor the districts where elections will be held in 3rd Phase
Date of issue of Notice of Election inviting Nominations29.05.201303.06.201305.06.2013
Last* date for making nominations05.06.201310.06.201312.06.2013
Date for the scrutiny of nominations07.06.201312.06.201314.06.2013
Last date for withdrawal of candidature10.06.201315.06.201317.06.2013

4. Number of Constituencies and seats:

TierNo. of ConstituencySeat
Gram Panchayat48,69948,800
Panchayat Samiti9,2409,240
Zilla Parishad825825

5. Number of Electors: 4,44,57,536

6. Number of Polling Stations: 57,233

7. Observers will be appointed for each of the 329 Blocks going for the Panchayat General Elections, 2013 in addition 1 (one) observer will also be engaged for each of the 17 districts.

No. 158/ICA dated 27.05.2013

Related Publication